Our funding committees

06 Nov 2017

We have three expert committees, which consider and review grant applications after they've been reviewed by experts around the world. Their expertise and time mean we only fund the very best research.

Research Committee members

  • Professor David Gillespie (Chair), Universidad de la Laguna, Tenerife
  • Dr Dinis Calado, Francis Crick Institute/King’s College London
  • Dr Mary Callanan, University Joseph Fourier-Grenoble, France
  • Professor Stephen Devereux, King’s College London
  • Professor Tariq Enver, University College London
  • Professor Adele Fielding, University College London
  • Professor Jude Fitzgibbon, Barts/Queen Mary University of London
  • Professor Bertie Gottgens, University of Cambridge 
  • Professor Christine Harrison, Newcastle University
  • Professor Anastasios Karadimitris, Imperial College London
  • Dr Stefan Meyer, University of Manchester
  • Professor Chris Pepper, Brighton and Sussex Medical School
  • Professor Irene Roberts, University of Oxford
  • Professor Mark Vickers, University of Aberdeen
  • Professor Alan Warren, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Peter Campbell, Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
  • Professor Ron Hay, University of Dundee 
  • Professor Anna Schuh, University of Oxford
  • Dr Alasdair Rankin, Director of Research, Bloodwise (non-voting member)

Clinical Trials Committee

  • Professor Irene Roberts (Chair), University of Oxford
  • Professor Stephen Devereux, King’s College Hospital, London
  • Professor Claire Harrison, Guys and St. Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust
  • Professor Simon Rule, Derriford Hospital, Plymouth
  • Professor Anna Schuh, University of Oxford
  • Professor Gordon Cook, University of Leeds
  • Professor Asim Khwaja - University College London
  • Dr Charlotte Wilhelm-Benartzi - Cardiff University

Training & Career Development Committee

  • Professor Adele Fielding, University College London (chair)
  • Dr Reuben Tooze, University of Leeds Professor 
  • Professor Chris Pepper, University of Cardiff
  • Dr Rebecca Auer, Queen Mary University London
  • Dr Claire Edwards, University of Oxford


Read our conflict of interests policy >

Make a donation

I would like to give...